Guiding your life’s biggest financial moments

Small Business

States will begin cutting federal unemployment benefits this week. Here is a map showing where (and in how long) the aid ends

There are 25 states that are ending their participation in federal unemployment programs earlier – some as early as this week.

Alaska, Iowa, Mississippi and Missouri will be the first to withdraw from pandemic-era programs, effective June 12, nearly three months before their official expiration.

They represent a handful of the 25 states that will do the same in the coming weeks, until July 10.

In total, about 3.9 million Americans will be affected by state decisions, according to to Daniel Zhao, Senior Economist at Glassdoor, a job search site.

The states, all of which are run by Republican governors, say improved unemployment benefits provide an incentive to stay home and make it difficult for companies to hire.

Critics say other factors in the pandemic era, such as ongoing health risks, childcare duties and early retirements, are the main causes of any labor shortage. Ending income support prematurely could also undermine the economic recovery, they said.

Unemployment programs

Most states are opting out of all federal programs created by the CARES Act.

They include: a weekly benefit supplement (currently $ 300 per week); Unemployment assistance in the event of a pandemic, for the self-employed, odd jobs and other workers who are generally not eligible for state benefits; and emergency compensation in the event of an unemployment pandemic, for the long-term unemployed who have exhausted their state aid.

More from Personal Finance:
IRS Sends 2.8 Million Refunds to People Who Paid Tax on Unemployment Benefits
Is there a labor shortage? What the May Jobs Report tells us
Long-term unemployment drops for the first time during pandemic

Four states – Alaska, Arizona, Florida, and Ohio – only end the $ 300 weekly payment. They keep the other programs intact. (States ending the $ 300 weekly payment are also pulling out of a separate program, created in December, that pays some self-employed workers an additional $ 100 a week.)

A handful of states are offering back-to-work bonuses of up to $ 2,000 instead of enhanced unemployment benefits, though there are caveats such as limited availability.

Here is a list of all states that are opting out: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia and Wyoming.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply